A great day at the airport.

Yesterday I had a great day at the airport.  The Arizona CAF was in town giving rides and showing off their Liberators and a Super Fortress.  I am such an aviation buff, that seeing those planes just made my day.  Hearing those radial engines and smelling the exhaust was such a wonderful experience. I am bummed that I did not get a ride in one, but maybe next time. I snapped this shot as the Super Fortress was getting ready for take off.

Super Fortress SBA

 Seeing this bird take off with such roar and grace really makes me appreciate our history.  A number of our veterans were at the airport watching this bird, many had flown similar planes in their day.  Hearing their stories surrounding this magnificent airplane was the icing on the cake.  I think I will spend sometime this year volunteering at my local CAF unit.

One thought on “A great day at the airport.

  1. Pingback: singlepilot.net » A great day at the airport.

Leave a Reply

