Pancakes with a healthy twist

I am a huge fan of really good, homemade pancakes.  I will admit that I grew up on the Bisquick version, but after leaving home, I found it cheaper to make my own from scratch.  For many years now I make the pancakes according to the “Pancakes, Griddle Cakes, or Batter Cakes” recipe found in the Joy of Cooking.  When these are right out of the pan with a little butter (real butter) and a bit of authentic maple syrup, I am in another world.  But then, my doctor suggested eating more fruits and whole grains and called my weekly pancake celebration a heart attack waiting to happen.

Part of the solution that I came up with was to cut back my pancake celebrations to once or twice a month.  This way, they are a little more special.   The other part was to add some fresh fruit to the recipe and add some whole grain wheat flour.

Here’s what I found that makes a great pancake (this is a half recipe as it is just me and makes about six pancakes):

1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup stone ground, whole grain wheat flour (make your own if you can)
1/2 + 3/8 teaspoon of baking powder
1 slightly beaten large AA egg
1 – 1/2 tablespoons melted Canoleo (you can use butter or your favorite butter substitute)
1/2 cup milk
A few drops of vanilla flavoring
1 handful of fresh, organic blueberries
1/2 handful of chopped peaches

As most pancake recipes, mix the dry ingredients and sift.  I then put the egg and milk together in a measuring cup and beat while the Canoleo is melting.  Then combine the egg/milk mixture with the butter and add the vanilla.  Set both dry and liquid mixtures aside.  Chop the peaches.  Mix the dry and liquid mixtures together quickly, then add the fruit and stir.  I usually like to let my batter sit in the refrigerator for a few minutes, but you can start cooking immediately on a hot griddle.  Flip when the bubbles appear and before they break.  Cook until golden brown and top with your favorite toppings.

I really enjoy the blueberries and the peaches together.  The whole grain flour, with the fruit, make this much healthier than the original.   Note, if you want more whole grain, simply cut back the all-purpose flour and add more whole wheat flour.  I don’t recommend using all wheat flour.

Happy eats!

Leave a Reply

