My Cookies Won “Best Tasting Treat”!

Today at work, we had the first part of our department Cook-off series. The first competition consisted of Cookies, Confections and Brownies. While I thought hard about what I would make, I ultimately consulted my cookie bible, a recipe book called The Cookie Book. Since I waited until the day before to go shopping, I decided that the recipe had to be simple and have as few ingredients as possible.

After perusing some delicious sounding choices, I decided on a recipe called “The Old Cake Mix Cookie” (p. 317) which had three ingredients, with a cake mix at the core (in this case Triple Fudge). I decided to spice it up a bit with a little rum and chocolate chips. However, since Christmas is coming, I decided to add some crushed peppermint candies as well. Needless to say, these were a big hit and the judges loved them. What came out are really rich chocolate chocolate chip cookies with a wonderful mint after taste. I calling them Reindeer Patties.

cookies

Reindeer Patties
(makes 30 cookies)

1/2 cup salted butter at room temperature (you could use margarine, but come on, these are cookies!)
1 large egg at room temperature
One 18.5oz plain cake mix (for this recipe I used Betty Crocker’s Super Moist Chocolate Fudge cake mix, but you can expirement)
One 11.5 oz package of milk chocolate chips
3 peppermint candies, crushed (those little round ones with the red marks at the edge)

– Prehead oven to 350 degrees

– Put the egg and butter in a bowl. Mix it well, until creamy by hand or with an electric mixer if you are a wuss.

– Gradually add the cake mix, beating until it is very well blended. Note that the dough is going to get VERY stiff after half the cake mix has been added. If it gets too stiff, at a tablespoon or two of milk until all of the mix has been added. The trick is to not have too stiff of a dough and not too loose of a dough. I think I added about 4 or 5 tablespoons of milk to my dough, but the exact amount will vary.

– Add the chocolate chips and peppermints. Mix well.

– Using a teaspoon, place well-rounded drops of batter a few inches apart on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

– Bake in the preheated oven for about 12 minutes. They should be firm when touched lightly. Start checking for doneness around 10 minutes.

– When done, remove from oven and place cookies on a cooling rack.

– Once cooled, sprinkle the top of the cookies with some powdered sugar.

– Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

