A Seriously Impressive Duke

With climb rate of 4,000 ft/min and two glorious turboprop engines attached to its six seat fuselage, you can’t help but question the sanity of such a thing.  Its like putting a V-8 in a Miata and wondering why the tires are bald after one lap.

One mean looking airplane!

As insane as it seems, it actually makes a lot of sense as an alternative to flying a jet.  Why not put jet-like performance on an aircraft that can deliver much lower operating costs?   Enter the Real Air Simulations Beechcraft Turbine Duke for FSX.  It is a regular six seat Duke twin-engine aircraft retro-fitted with PT6A turbine engines that take this bird to a new level.

Real Air Simulations is known for producing realism, putting an emphasis on flight dynamics and system operation rather than eye candy.  That isn’t to say the Duke’s model is poor, but the package is much more refined and complete compared to other payware offerings.  With this model, engine failure is quite real, so managing torque and prop speed is essential as I found out on a test flight when I blew both engines and had to make an emergency landing.

Take care of those engines!

While some might balk at the nearly $50 US price tag, the level of detail of this model is well worth it.  You aren’t paying for eye candy alone, but also realistic engine function and flight dynamics.    I’ve flown the Turbine Duke in FSX on three flights and have to say that I am extremely impressed.  This is probably the best commercial add-on for FSX yet.   A full review is coming soon, so check back in the next few days.

 

2 thoughts on “A Seriously Impressive Duke

  1. I do have the RealAir Duke purchased from Flight1. Is this Duke on your web page a different model to mine? I see it contains two versions. I love my Duke and find it hard to believe it could be better. Is it worth my while to upgrade to your package and enjoy an even better model for visual and flight parameters. I am adding you to my tweets if thats ok as you know a lot about flight sim and feel I could learn a lot from you. Thanks.

    • Lawrence,

      It is likely that the Duke you purchased comes with both the naturally aspirated Duke and the Turbine version. When I purchased mine, the Turbine was only available as a separate purchase from the regular version. The Turbine Duke that you and I have should be identical.

      Hope you are enjoying it as much as I am!

      Cheers!
      -Aric

Leave a Reply

